Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 20th year! -- 1996-2016

Skateboard Truck Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 1223219 pageviews on this page, 32770728 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 35014481 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263609 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 15189-15213 of 15213 Add your own post! 






Your

ad

here

for

only

$10 per month!



request info



(Requires
12 month pre-pay.
Limited time offer!)
 
Truck Reviews (15213 Posts)
Truck Review
Why go Global?
On 10/20/2015 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

I've found that my Tracker Aggro Quicktracs (the ones that came with Stimulators, stock; and, at one time, T. Hawk's fave ramp truck) have been really solid, predictable mid-high speed carving trucks. So, while I had a Globe Prowler (38", drop, tapered shape, medium concave) these last two summers, I put the Aggro hangers onto RTS bases, mounted dropped-in, and, as always, with wedging to better the steering feel.
The result was that the board rode better. Less prone to wobbles than the RKP Randal-copy-from-China that Globe fitted, with a slight loss in turn radius, but increased traction thru the entire turn.
All I can say about this experimental experience is that the 25-yr. old Trackers kicked the ass of these RKP copy trucks. Oh, and that my top-end went up by (this by airflow speedometer, something I've used for a few decades now, hand-held, no GPS crap, no batteries needed either, just Air, passing over a duct-fan and rev counter) 15 MPH, to 62 MPH using the old SKP Tracker Aggros, with no wobbles.

Some things, American industry simply did better at than the Communists afar. Well, ecept, of course, Outsourcing jobs...

 
  Rate post 344852 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Time Warp
On 5/9/2014 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

Ya, well, Herbn, I just turned 50, and found that Chris Yandall had passed on. What a way to reconnect with the 'old school' longboard vibe,eh? Time, though ,moves along,taking us with it; You can fight it, but it will always have that 'last word', unless, of course, you can interupt it with a profound thought on you're way out the door....

 
  Rate post 343772 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
can't believe how little traffic comes here
On 4/27/2014 herbn wrote in from United States  (69.112.nnn.nnn)

I thought I was responding to a new post ha ha 2009, and I already responded to it,looking for the way to post pics...can't find it?? and few of the other posts i see ever get responces, people get tired of posting to themselves.

 
  Rate post 343734 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
back on here
On 4/27/2014 herbn wrote in from United States  (69.112.nnn.nnn)

yes ,i'm still around...make an occasional truck for my own entertainment ha ha the last three were kind of one of a kind,kept thinking of new stuff and then the ride heights came out different, should definitely finnish them. All they need is kingpins. I'm working n a new set, that's going to be a pair for sure.I'm looking for a way to post pics.... i'm on facebook step by step pics are there, in case you want to follow along.

 
  Rate post 343733 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hard to find board
On 3/31/2014 John wrote in from United States  (67.187.nnn.nnn)

I recently rode a friend's Payaso Propellers Bowl Slayer and loved it. I can't find the board for sale anywhere online, any suggestions where to find it or suggestions on a comparable board?

Thanks,
John

 
  Rate post 343705 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
cRICKETS
On 12/14/2013 Swink wrote in from (50.122.nnn.nnn)

Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 16th year! -- 1996-2012
Hmmm?

 
  Rate post 343556 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Stolen ideas
On 4/1/2012 PSR wrote in from United States  (69.131.nnn.nnn)

Funny, 'cause I recall PVD's being made here in the US about a decade ago... Must be that Euro beer thay inhibits memory functions for some. BTW, the design was 'let go' at no charge to anyone who could build it and make a profit. My chicken got here before your egg...

 
  Rate post 340334 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
X Caliber Trucks
On 1/29/2012 Stingrayjoe wrote in from United States  (71.2.nnn.nnn)

I am looking for a new old stock set of these trucks.
Send me an e-mail, thanks.

 
  Rate post 339728 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
One piece hangers
On 11/25/2011 Steve Baade wrote in from (174.99.nnn.nnn)

I was wondering if any one knows of prior art on a one piece truck hanger. I find it hard to believe no one before Theeve ever thought that idea up.

 
  Rate post 338682 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
what about Paris Adam Colton 180's?
On 12/8/2010 dkzu wrote in from (189.35.nnn.nnn)

I thinck the paris trucks are most heavy than gullwing charge and randal, doesn't make much carving, and is much tall.in resume, paris is very bad

 
  Rate post 333393 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Surf Rodz Trucks / CNC Precision Machined 200mm
On 4/24/2010 brandond wrote in from (24.20.nnn.nnn)

I can say one thing is for sure. THESE TRUCKS ARE AMAZING FOR FREERIDE!!! I had them on my nemesis for sometime and they are definitely awesome. They are crazy good for DH too. Get them!

 
  Rate post 332270 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (1)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Surf Rodz Trucks / CNC Precision Machined 200mm
On 2/9/2010 jono wrote in from (140.184.nnn.nnn)

I'm very interested in these trucks since the price is very affordable for a precision truck. Would these work nicely on a Rayne Nemesis?

 
  Rate post 331867 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
what about Paris Adam Colton 180's?
On 2/5/2010 whirlingdervish wrote in from (166.205.nnn.nnn)

[quote="herbn":3s1fylhs]only difference seems to be paint,probabely designed(the paint) by or for someone named adam colton, there seems to be a proliferation of right angle longboard trucks, most seem to stick to the 50 degree pivoting angle and more or less the same ride height. My favorite new truck is the randal 42 degree,it's lower,about the height of a tall indy.You need to have a high clearence cutaway board or a bunch of risers. :geek: attack[/quote:3s1fylhs]Thanks man they seem cool and all but I don't want a lower truck so the randal's seem sweet. The place I'm going to today said I could test out both before buying so I'm stoaked! I appreciate the help!!!

 
  Rate post 331837 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
what about Paris Adam Colton 180's?
On 2/5/2010 herbn wrote in from (67.84.nnn.nnn)

only difference seems to be paint,probabely designed(the paint) by or for someone named adam colton, there seems to be a proliferation of right angle longboard trucks, most seem to stick to the 50 degree pivoting angle and more or less the same ride height. My favorite new truck is the randal 42 degree,it's lower,about the height of a tall indy.You need to have a high clearence cutaway board or a bunch of risers. :geek: attack

 
  Rate post 331836 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
what about Paris Adam Colton 180's?
On 2/3/2010 whirlingdervish wrote in from (12.230.nnn.nnn)

are these any good? or at least the paris 181's?[url:pt5whwj6]http://longboardskater 6;com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_ Code=LS&Product_Code=P180AC&Category_Code =TI[/url:pt5whwj6]

 
  Rate post 331827 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Surf Rodz Trucks / CNC Precision Machined 200mm
On 1/4/2010 visina wrote in from (75.144.nnn.nnn)

Visit our website for full details;SZ truck systemwww.surf-rodz-trucks.comBase Plate / Hanger Material: 6061-T6511 Aircraft Grade Aluminum per AMS QQ-A-200/8Base Plate Angle: 45 DegreeBolt Pattern: 6-holeMachined speed rings on hanger and SZ custom bolt axle10mm Precision wheel SpacersAxle Size: Precision 10mm axles as per ISO 7379Hanger Width: 3mm Offset, Reversible 200mm (can be extended up to 240mm optional)Axle Information: Removable, Class 12.9 Alloy Steel, Split Axle: YesPivot: StandardPivot Cup: UrethaneKingpin Hole: StandardBase is 0.331 lbs (150.14 grams)Hanger is 0.543 lbs (246.30 grams)Smooth turning and extremely stableLow Ride HeightProudly made in Seymour, CT USA.We have trucks coming off our CNC machines and will be processing orders as we receive them. For any other questions please contact us.Thank you very much for all your support, phone calls and emails. Waynesales@surf-rodz.comSZ collectiveWayne GallipoliSurf-Rodz, LLCwww.surf-rodz.com203.530.2668 mobile203.937.5722 faxWest Haven, Connecticut 06516USASURF-RODZ-«Surf-Rodz is a registered trademark.-¬2009

 
  Rate post 331663 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Grennett truck
On 12/13/2009 griffinsk8 wrote in from (72.207.nnn.nnn)

[img:2sz16lf9]http://i179.photobucket. ;com/albums/w301/thane1999/Griffin09662-1.jpg [/img:2sz16lf9]Polished Pivot.

 
  Rate post 331577 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Trucks
On 12/11/2009 judgek wrote in from (124.182.nnn.nnn)

Got mine this week, they are an odd job, I have mounted them on my EVO, but have re drilled the front 1/2 inch further back, this is to make the board level again and also give a bit more ride height. Rail bite is easy with these trucks on an Evo. I have a 20* rear which obviously makes the rear near zero and a 30* front which is close to 45*. The turn is crazy at slow speeds, i will hit some hills at the w/e and see how they go. Tightening them is odd too, no matter how tight you make the bushings they still turn to max but slower. I'm running Black Reflex Fyres rear and Red Reflex Fyres front. I'm a bit of a porker!! Wether they are worth the money, or not, well is anything worth what you pay for it??

 
  Rate post 331557 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Trucks
On 11/25/2009 steve wrote in from (75.72.nnn.nnn)

:)

 
  Rate post 331423 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Herbn's truck
On 11/24/2009 herbn wrote in from (67.83.nnn.nnn)

i have a couple of sets of trucks like that on a couple of different boards,my "shopping board" is really close,somewhat wider,with a secondary pivot on the other side of the bushings. So is my "max speed" board with the pink gumballs that clocked just under 50 mph about 3 weeks ago,i was supposed to break 50 with a bit more aero dynamic clothing. I like taking speed runs and i wish there was somebody in the area that did runs on a regular basis or was interested in spliting the driving chore for some harrimann runs. I started a new set of trucks a couple of months ago,messed up a bit; the hangers where different widths,the holes they press into are different depths, can't seem to pull them out for modification,very tight pressfit,oh well measure twice cut once, i don't really need any new boards,so it's tough to get motivated. i made a few pieces for my motorcycle including a very cool brake rod,piece that holds the back caliper, yeah i trust the stuff i make.

 
  Rate post 331419 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Trucks
On 11/21/2009 steve wrote in from (75.72.nnn.nnn)

:)

 
  Rate post 331389 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Grennett truck
On 11/21/2009 griffinsk8 wrote in from (72.207.nnn.nnn)

[img:z5t1fpv3]http://i179.photobucket. ;com/albums/w301/thane1999/Griffin09675-1.jpg [/img:z5t1fpv3]More modification to the truck. The knurled insert nut.GriffinSK8

 
  Rate post 331385 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Herbn's truck
On 11/15/2009 sk8norcal wrote in from (98.234.nnn.nnn)

Hey Herbn, you out there?I believe you made this truck for somebody a couple of years ago..did you make a similar one for youself?how does it ride?did you use the same 'floating' kingpin design like the Chaput's Fyre?[attachment=0:eg49safc]herb_truck_3_122.jpg[/attachment:eg49safc][attachment=1:eg49safc]< !-- ia1 -->herb_truck_4_122.jpg[/attachment:eg49safc]

 
  Rate post 331311 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Grennett truck
On 11/6/2009 griffinsk8 wrote in from (72.207.nnn.nnn)

[img:32cjef00]http://i179.photobucket. ;com/albums/w301/thane1999/Griffin09661-1.jpg [/img:32cjef00]Base plate

 
  Rate post 330972 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Grennett truck
On 11/5/2009 griffinsk8 wrote in from (72.207.nnn.nnn)

[img:1rjje4da]http://i179.photobucket. ;com/albums/w301/thane1999/Griffin09503-1.jpg [/img:1rjje4da]Faced hangers

 
  Rate post 331163 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 15189-15213 of 15213 Add your own post! 


Add your own Truck Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 4/30/2017 4:51:13 AM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2017 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC